Close this search box.

Firestone Collection of Canadian Art

The Firestone Collection of Canadian Art (FCCA) is a significant art collection that spans the modern period (1900–1985). Originally established by the Firestone family in the early 1950s, the collection contains approximately 1,600 works by influential Canadian artists, including A.Y. Jackson, Arthur Lismer, Lawren S. Harris, Franklin Carmichael, A. J. Casson, Emily Carr, Jack Shadbolt, Alfred Pellan, Paul-Émile Borduas, Rita Letendre, Ghitta Caiserman-Roth, and Marian Scott.

In 1972, the Firestone family generously donated their collection to the Ontario Heritage Foundation to ensure that it became accessible to the public. In 1992, the Foundation transferred ownership of the collection to the City of Ottawa, and the Ottawa Art Gallery became responsible for its conservation and public display.

The Gallery cares for and presents the Collection in a series of rotating exhibitions featuring specific artists, art historical themes and art movements. In this way, this nationally important, City-owned collection is enjoyed by the people of Ottawa and visitors alike.

For more information about OAG’s Firestone Collection of Canadian Art please contact or  613.233.8699.